SA simHTC: Thriller Imola round sees Bryson and Mogotsi emerge victors

SA simHTC Series

Bryson leads Mogotsi during Race 2.

AGBSs Boyd Bryson and Revlimit Racing’s Jonathan Mogotsi shared victories of Round 4 of the SA simHTC Series, held at the legendary Imola circuit


The frantic four-lap side by side battle between Mogotsi and Holden-Jones.

Bryson started his Alfa Romeo 155 well to lead the 20 strong field through the opening Traguardo and Tamburello corners, until an error from Bryson saw him scrambling out of the sand trap at Rivazza II. This allowed the H-J eSports’ Mercedes-Benz 190E of Jason Holden-Jones to slip by into the race lead. Bryson fought back to pass Holden-Jones using the outside line at Minerali, the move also allowed Revlimit Racing’s Jonathan Mogotsi to follow Bryson into second position.

A charge from HRTs Mark Henebury saw him up to fourth position before his fight with Team JVC 2.0s Gerrit Crafford came to an abrupt end in the Traguardo corner sand trap. Russell Meyer, on debut for Stormfront Racing, too reached fourth position before a tank-slapper saw him fall back to join teammate Eugene Niewoudt, also on debut, in 14th position.

Lap 4 saw the start of two frantic battles, the first of which saw Revlimit Racing’s Jason Absmeier eventually win his battle with Ichor Racing’s Lance Garassino. The other was that of Mogotsi and Holden-Jones, the two Mercedes-Benzs were caught side by side for the best part of four laps before Holden-Jones out-braked himself to go off at Rivazza I.

Bryson crossed the line to win Race 1 some nine seconds ahead of Mogotsi, Absmeier successfully held off a recovering Holden-Jones to claim the final step of the podium.


Damian Halket (above) won the HTC-AM class in Race 1, and debutant Russell Meyer (below) won Race 2.

Race 2 saw Bryson again start from pole position to be under sustained attack from a determined Mogotsi. After the opening nine laps, a better drive for Mogotsi out of Tamburello allowed him to close up to Bryson and execute a pass using the outside line three corners later at Tosa.  Meyer, after out-braking himself, fell back to fourth position before Bryson and Holden-Jones too fell back to allow him to eventually finish second overall.

In the HTC-AM, TDRs Damian Halket enjoyed his best overall result of the season to win the class. Meyer won Race 2.

Mogotsi is the new overall Drivers’ Championship leader, he leads Bryson by just a single point. AGBS continue to lead the Screenshot_ks_mercedes_190_evo2_imola_15-6-116-16-22-17Teams’ Championship by 8 points ahead of Revlimit Racing, and 41 points ahead of Ichor Racing RSA. Team JVC 2.0s Gerrit Crafford leads the GT-AM Drivers’ Championship ahead of Team JVCs Victer de Kock and Halket.

The next round of the championship will be at Spa-Francorchamps on 27 June 2016, and will be available for viewing on Sim Race South Africa’s Youtube channel from Friday 01 July 2016 , subscribe here.

Race video:

Race 1 Result:

Round 4 Race 1

Race 2 Result:

Round 4 Race 2

Drivers’ Championship Standings after Round 4:

After round 4 dc

Team’ Championship Standings after Round 4:

After round 4 tc

About Jason Holden-Jones (603 Articles)
Jason founded Sim Race South Africa - - in November 2012, and continues to manage it as a passion project together with Ryan Hill, Alan Paterson, Sas van der Westhuizen, Nick Hodgson and Daniel Haynes. Contact Jason by email:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: