McGeer clinches Clubmans M2 Cup Drivers’ Championship

It took eight class wins and one more appearance on the podium for Mike McGeer to secure his title as the Sim Race South Africa hosted 2015.2 Clubmans simM2 Cup Drivers’ Champion. The final round of the championship took place at Zandvoort on 20 August 2015.

McGeer faced stiff competition from the likes of Gert James, Brent Lindsay-Rae and Ian Watkins. James and Watkins were the only other drivers to secure class victories during the season.

James passes Watkins during the final round at Zandvoort.

James passes Watkins during the final round at Zandvoort.

In addition to the 22 Clubmans classified drivers, many non-classified (National Championship Pro-Class drivers) took part in the championship such as Chris Heyneke, Markus Steyn, Mark Henebury, Jason Holden-Jones and during the latter rounds defending SA simGT champion Basheer Jadwat.

The simM2 Cup made use of a double race sprint round format as well as Assetto Corsa’s impressive BMW M235i Racing car.

Details of the next Assetto Corsa Clubmans championship will be released within the week. If you would like to enter the next Clubmans Championship please do not hesitate to email Jason at

Final 2015.2 Clubmans simM2 Cup Drivers’ Championship Standings:

After round 6 DC

About Jason Holden-Jones (603 Articles)
Jason founded Sim Race South Africa - - in November 2012, and continues to manage it as a passion project together with Ryan Hill, Alan Paterson, Sas van der Westhuizen, Nick Hodgson and Daniel Haynes. Contact Jason by email:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: