Jadwat retaliates with double victory at the Nürburgring

2015.2 SA simGT Series Round 3 Nürburgring

Basheer Jadwat (#83 Squadro GhostworX BMW), during the championship’s sprint round at the Nürburgring, became the first double victor of the 2015.2 SA simGT Series. Jadwat’s victory in race one marked the first victory of the season for the defending simGT Champion. Both races consisted of a 14 lap sprint to the finish line.

During lap five of race one and with a better drive down the main straight,  Boyd Bryson (#81 AGBS Nissan)  moved into the race lead only to later fall back down the field citing an incorrect tyre choice. Bryson was later forced to make an unscheduled pit-stop. Jadwat managed the gap back to both of the strong running Revlimit Racing Nissans of Jordan Sherratt and Jason Absmeier to become the fifth different winner from the season’s first five races, the first time it has happened in Sim Race South Africa’s three year history.  Sherratt, Gabriel Rossouw (#25 Trigon Racing Nissan), and Chris Heyneke (#13 HRT Nissan)  enjoyed season best points finishes.

Race two’s six car battle for 7th position.

Race two saw the same names at the sharp end while the rest of the field was awash with frantic battles taking place throughout the race. After an incident at the NGK Chicane, first lap front runners  Heyneke  and Jonathan Mogotsi (#80 Raging Bull Motorsports Mercedes-Benz) fell back into the midfield to make it a six-way and four manufacturer battle for 7th. Jason Holden-Jones was leading the train in his #22 Lotus Evora, the light weight Lotus proving vulnerable down the long straights, however more than competitive under braking and through the corners. Gabriel Rossouw (#25 Trigon Racing Nissan) was the first of four drivers to pass the tenacious Lotus Evora.

In the GT-AM Class, Rossouw and Mike McGeer (#69 M2 Racing Nissan)  shared victories.

Taking into account the championship’s policy of dropping the worst two rounds of the championship at the end of the season; Jadwat now shares the overall driver’s championship lead with Bryson, 50 points a each. Gert James leads the AM Class ahead of Rossouw and Brent Lindsay-Rae (#38 BroZ Racing BMW).

AGBS leads the Teams’ Championship by just six points ahead of Revlimit Racing with Squadro GhostworX very close behind in third position.

Keep an eye out for the Youtube highlights race videos from this round available this weekend. Subscribe now to our Youtube channel here: SIM RACE SOUTH AFRICA YOUTUBE CHANNEL

Race 1 Results:

Round 3 Race 2

Race 2 Results:

Round 3 Race 1

Driver’s Championship Standings after Round 3:

DC After round 3

***Final column reflects total points minus the worst two rounds so far.

Team’s Championship Standings after Round 3:

TC After round 3

About Jason Holden-Jones (603 Articles)
Jason founded Sim Race South Africa - www.simracesa.co.za - in November 2012, and continues to manage it as a passion project together with Ryan Hill, Alan Paterson, Sas van der Westhuizen, Nick Hodgson and Daniel Haynes. Contact Jason by email: jason@simracesa.co.za

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: