GTE Round 6: Strategic win for van Vuuren, Jadwat crowned GTE Drivers’ Champion

2015.1 SA simGTE Series Round 6

Peter van Vuuren (#15 Trigon Racing Ferrari) won the sixth and final race of the 2015.1 South African simGT Endurance series. The race was held at the Nürburgring. Basheer Jadwat (#83 Squadro GhostworX BMW) finished in third position to win the GTE Drivers’ Championship by just six points from van Vuuren.

Jadwat started from pole position to lead the field throughout the opening lap. van Vuuren proved to be extremely quick to pass Markus Steyn (# 35 Shadow GhostworX Ferrari) and Jadwat for the race lead, both moves happening on lap 2 and 4 at the Dunlop Corner. The pace at which van Vuuren pulled away from Jadwat pointed to a clear strategic play by van Vuuren, a different strategy compared to the others.

Other than a good scrap between Philip Lategan (#14 Prodigy Motorsport Ferrari) and Jason Holden-Jones (#22 H-J Motorsport Ferrari) for fourth position, the field was equally spread out for most of the race. As expected van Vuuren was the first to pit, opting for a light fuel load and super soft tyres. This indicated that van Vuuren would be doing a two stop strategy, a strategy not seen yet in the championship. van Vuuren rejoined in third position crucially ahead of the Lategan/Holden-Jones battle.

Jadwat pitted on lap 15, to give van Vuuren the race lead and, to rejoin the track in fourth position behind Mark Henebury (#12 HRT BMW).  On lap 20, Steyn was the last of the front runners to pit. Just two laps later van Vuuren came in to do his second pit-stop to rejoin with a six second race lead over Jadwat. With just two laps remainng Steyn passed Jadwat under braking for the NGK Chicane.

After executing his cleverly planned strategy, van Vuuren’s went on to take victory of the final race of the 2015.2 simGTE season. Together with the overall victory van Vuuren also secured the AM-Class win.

Jadwat’s team, together with teammate Jonathan Bentz, Squadro GhostworX won the overall Teams’ Championship.

The AM-Class Drivers’ Championship was won convincingly by van Vuuren who had an impressive season to out score many of the PRO-Class drivers.

Race results:

Round 6 Nurbs

Final Drivers Championship Standings:

GTE DC after round 6

Final Teams Championship Standings:

GTE TC after round 6


About Jason Holden-Jones (603 Articles)
Jason founded Sim Race South Africa - - in November 2012, and continues to manage it as a passion project together with Ryan Hill, Alan Paterson, Sas van der Westhuizen, Nick Hodgson and Daniel Haynes. Contact Jason by email:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: