Steyn wins, Henebury clinches SS3 drivers championship

2015.2 SA simSS3 Series Round 6 Race 2

Markus Steyn took the overall victory of the final race of the 2015.1 SA simSS3 Series. Mark Henebury’s (HRT) overall third position clinch him the drivers championship by one point ahead of Basheer Jadwat (Squadro GhostworX).

A frantic start saw Gabriel Rossouw (Revlimit Racing Jnr) maintain his front starting position from a very determined looking Henebury. Jadwat had a good start to see him beat Osman Vallee (Revlimit Racing Jnr) into the opening corner for fourth position and then to pass Steyn under braking for Turn 10, also on the opening lap.

Henebury was gifted the race lead when Rossouw, on lap 2, used too much of the curb to spin off at the Michael Schumacher Esses to fall back to eighth position. Just one lap later Jadwat claimed the race lead by using better driver out of the last corner to run side by side and out brake Henebury into the Castrol Esses. Henebury moved down a further positon when Steyn, on lap 6, passed him into the NGK Chicane. 

It seemed a certain race victory for Jadwat, however an error at Turn 6 allowed Steyn to close right up to Jadwat and later pass him into the NGK Chicane. Jadwat would fall back to third after running wide at the Dunlop Corner to see Henebury drive by into second position.

Steyn was left to claim his first win of the season,  Jadwat went on to pass Henebury at the death to claim second position. Jason Holden-Jones (H-J Motorsport) won his race long battle with Bjorn Buchner to take fourth position.

It took Henebury three victories and four more appearences on the podium to help him win the drivers championship. Henebury together with Chris Heyneke won the team’s championship for Heyneke Racing Team.

Race Video:

Race Result:

SS3 round 6 race 2

Final Drivers Championship Standings

SS3 dc after round 6

Final Teams Championship Standings

SS3 tc after round 6




About Jason Holden-Jones (603 Articles)
Jason founded Sim Race South Africa - - in November 2012, and continues to manage it as a passion project together with Ryan Hill, Alan Paterson, Sas van der Westhuizen, Nick Hodgson and Daniel Haynes. Contact Jason by email:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: