GTS Round 6 Race 2: Maiden win for Heyneke, Jadwat secures drivers title

Chris Heyneke (#13 HRT BMW) scored his maiden win during the final race of the 2015.1 SA simGT Sprint round, at the Nürburgring.

Heyneke enjoyed a good start to see him beat both Boyd Bryson (#81 Xtreme Racing) and Jason Holden-Jones (#22 H-J Motorsport) to the opening corner for second position. An opening corner incident between Mark Henebury (#12 HRT BMW) and Bryson dropped them both down the order.

Debutants Brent Lindsay-Rae and Osman Vallee were enjoying a good start to the race to see them running as high as third and fourth position. Bryson moved up into third position after Vallee spun at Turn 5 and after he passed Lindsay-Rae, under braking using the inside line, at Dunlop Corner.

The opening stage race leader, Jason Absmeier (#90 Revlimit Racing), looked set to make it a double victory for the day until a technical issue forced him into retirement. Holden-Jones too retired from the race.

After missing the start of the race and facing the loss of the Drivers Championship title, Basheer Jadwat eventually joined the race four laps down.

Chris Heyneke was left unchallenged to take victory ahead of  Bryson and Vallee.

Jadwat did enough to finish the race to secure the overall and GT-PRO class drivers championship. The GT-AM drivers title was won by Chris Heyneke and the GT-GT Class was won by Boyd Bryson.

Squadro GhostworX, Jadwat together with Jonathan Bentz, secured the Teams Championship during Round 4 at Mugello.

Race result:

GTS Round 6 race 2

Final Drivers Championship Standings:

GTS dc after round 6

Final Team Championship Standings:

GTS tc after round 6

About Jason Holden-Jones (603 Articles)
Jason founded Sim Race South Africa - - in November 2012, and continues to manage it as a passion project together with Ryan Hill, Alan Paterson, Sas van der Westhuizen, Nick Hodgson and Daniel Haynes. Contact Jason by email:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: