SS3 Round 11 Race 1: Bentz wins to maintain Squadro GhostworX’s title challenge

Jonathan Bentz (Squadro GhostworX) won race 1 of the 11th SA simSS3 round, held at Mugello.

Pelser presses Bentz for th race lead.

Pelser presses Bentz for th race lead.

The start saw pole sitter Bentz just edge a fiery looking Steven Pelser (Revlimit Racing) who tried to unnerve Bentz, especially through Luco (turn 2) and Poggio Seco (turn 3).

Then on lap 4 an error by Pelser saw him use too much curb on the exit of the appropriately named Casanova (turn 6), spinning him off to retirement.

An unusually difficult qualifying session for Bentz’s teammate and newly crowned 2014 Drivers Champion Basheer Jadwat saw him start from the back of the field. Jadwat waisted no time by out dragging Riaan vd Westhuizen (Deltec Racing) and Marius van Wyk (Xtreme Racing) to San Danoto (turn 1). While displaying exactly why he is 2014’s Drivers Champion, Jadwat, by patiently picking the right moments when to attack and when not to, went on to fight his way all the way to 2nd position, in what must be called an extremely mature and composed drive.

Ragubeer enjoyed a solid drive for 4th.

Ragubeer enjoyed a solid drive for 4th.

With Pelser’s earlier retirement and with just 3 laps remaining , Chris Browne (GhostworX 3.0) found himself in 2nd with an ever closing Jadwat. Browne did very well to maintain his position until the very last lap when Jadwat was able to slip stream his way alongside him and make a great pass at San Danoto.

Yasteel Ragubeer (Team Ryoku) enjoyed a solid drive to earn his best race result of 4th for the season so far.

Bentz comfortably went on to win ahead of the Jadwat/Browne battle for 2nd.

Squadro GhostworX’s perfect race maintains their Team Championship title hopes ahead of race 2, with just Revlimit Racing still in contention.

Race 1 results:

Round 11 Race 1: Mugello 01 December 2014

Round 10 race 1


About Jason Holden-Jones (603 Articles)
Jason founded Sim Race South Africa - - in November 2012, and continues to manage it as a passion project together with Ryan Hill, Alan Paterson, Sas van der Westhuizen, Nick Hodgson and Daniel Haynes. Contact Jason by email:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: