SS3 Round 1 Race 2: Jadwat double victor at Vallelunga

Squadro Racing’s Basheer Jadwat became a double victor at Vallelunga, winning both races of Round 1.

This time Jadwat secured pole position outright with GhostworX 3.0’s Markus Steyn starting in 2nd position alongside him. A much better qualifying session by Jonathan Bentz saw him starting in third position behind his teammate Jadwat. Again Jadwat was able to stay ahead of the competition emerging from Turn 1 still in the lead. Approaching Semaforo corner Bentz locked up his brakes running wide concertining the field resulting in Revlimit Racing’s Jason Absmeier clipping the rear of Chris Browne’s car causing multiple accidents involving five cars.

After the opening lap accident many drivers started their fight back through the field resulting in exciting overtaking moves by JVR GhostworX’s Johannes Coetsee and Juan Liebenberg on SH Racing’s Chad Cook through Roma corner and Turn 1 for 9th and 10th place respectively. A better drive out of Turn 3 for Bentz allowed him to out-drag Markus Steyn to the Esses to snatch second position. The Sqaudro GhostworX cars were lieing first and second on Lap 4. The Bentz / Steyn battle was soon joined by JVR GhostworX’s Willem van Zyl, who was looking quick during the opening stages of the race.

Team Ryoku’s Yasteel Ragubeer enjoyed a good race finding himself in 6th position on Lap 7 with a hard charging Craig Hume in pursuit. Lap 8 saw a great move by Absmeier passing Dean Rautenbach into the Semforo corner for 7th position.

With just 5 laps remaining an error by Steyn allowed van Zyl to sneak by and take 3rd position. Steyn immediately launched a counter offensive taking back 3rd position just three corners later only for van Zyl to re-take the position just two corners later at the Semaforo corner.

Basheer Jadwat drove flawlessly to take victory once again.

Race 2 video:

About Jason Holden-Jones (603 Articles)
Jason founded Sim Race South Africa - - in November 2012, and continues to manage it as a passion project together with Ryan Hill, Alan Paterson, Sas van der Westhuizen, Nick Hodgson and Daniel Haynes. Contact Jason by email:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: